Singleness.

The topic of this blog is singleness. I’m not exactly sure where I’m going with it, but I figured that since I’ve been single for all but a few months of my 21 years, I’m an expert and maybe I should talk about it. Plus it’s wedding season and my entire news feed is weddings and engagements. So what does a single woman do when she’s surrounded by couples, obviously blog about it. #AdventuresofMikaylaTheThirdWheel

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about my future (very INFJ of me). And I’ve realized that my heart deep down desires to one day be married and have a couple of kids, but when I imagine my future self, all I see is me and dogs, and no husband. I honestly don’t know what that means or if it even matters. But I do know that I’m content with either option which I think is important for everyone. Typically people aren’t content being single, but I think that if that’s what God has planned for you then you should be content with it. But I know that it’s really hard especially during this time of you. I personally think now I’d be content by myself with a bunch of dogs (in fact that sounds extremely appealing to me), and I’d also be content with a husband and kids (and dogs), but I’ve not always been that way. At this point, I’m just going with the flow. You know, whatever happens happens. It’s very rare for me… my anxious and over-thinker self ALWAYS worries about the future, but with this I’m chill. Don’t get me wrong, I want to have the wedding that I already have planned out (my Pinterest depends on it), and I want to name my kids the names that I already have picked out (I just really need to name a child Elijah Quinton okay?). I truly do want to get married! But I’ve also been thinking about the fact that relationships are weird to me. If I had the choice, I would honestly skip the whole dating thing and just get married. It sounds crazy, but I just don’t think I’m good at dating (even though I haven’t really given it much of a shot). My ideal relationship is also a little crazy… I would be totally cool if I saw said boyfriend once or twice a week. I would be completely fine if we didn’t talk every minute of the day. And I really don’t want him to touch me all that much. But then again I haven’t really tried all the mushy gushy relationship type stuff. The idea honestly scares me a little though. I’m very comfortable in my singleness, and I like comfortable. I’m clearly not relationship material or at least not typical relationship material. But really if I found a boy that was cool with my low maintenance, he’s a keeper. Other stipulations include he must like Lord of the Rings, he must want at least three dogs and he must love Jesus. So maybe that’s my problem… are my standards too high? I don’t think so. Ladies, never settle for less than you deserve. Gentlemen, you don’t settle either. We all deserve the absolute best. We deserve our ideal, and God (I accidentally wrote dog at first and it made me laugh so I’m telling you) has your ideal out there for you… if you’re meant for marriage. One could say my high standards is the reason why I’ve only had one boyfriend, but that one boyfriend is the only guy who has ever asked me out so it’s not like I’m turning away all the boys flocking to me. Ha boys don’t like me. It’s cool though because I completely understand why.

But anyway. Single life. I feel like I should give some advice or something because I’m a pro and all. How do you become content with being single?  Honestly, I don’t know. It just happened to me one day. It happened right before I got that boyfriend I talked about. God has funny timing like that. That could have been why it didn’t work out. Besides the fact that it just really wasn’t working out, maybe I still had singleness on my mind. After all, that’s where I’m comfortable. But all throughout high school and my first two years of college, I was in this little poor me bubble of sadness. I wanted a boyfriend so badly. But then I don’t even remember how I became content with it. Maybe it was because I had been single for 20 years. It was probably all God, though. Then right when I was finally becoming comfortable with single life, BAM a boy. Now, I don’t even know how I feel. I mean the other day I went through the whole Braves roster and picked out who I was going to marry… then I found out he was married. Dang you Shelby Miller.

But to the point. Let’s be honest. The norm of society is to get married, but it’s not necessary. I think so often the church especially, makes single people feel insignificant. Like they’re incomplete or something. But you don’t have to be constantly looking for a significant other. Because being single is completely fine. God’s plans for everyone aren’t identical. Not even close. And God plans single life for some people. Some of the greatest people/Christians I know are single. It’s not a bad thing to be single! All of you reading this, singleness is cool. Takenness is too, but I’m just saying that you shouldn’t feel obligated to be in a relationship or to get married. I don’t know if I’ll get married, and I don’t know if you’ll get married, but God does and He has it all under control. So enjoy the season of life that you’re in. Whatever that may be. Enjoy it! Because life is good with or without a significant other. Also, make sure you’re happy in the relationship you’re in because if you’re not, he/she isn’t the one. Basically, I want you to be happy. So be happy!

p.s. If any of you reading this decide you want to date me, read this first because it’s accurate. http://www.puckermob.com/relationships/8-things-to-know-before-dating-a-girl-who-is-perpetually-single

Leave a Reply

