Uh-Oh, It’s the Church Crowd

*Disclaimer before I even begin writing… this blog is in no way intended to say that I am better than anyone else. I am so imperfect and I recognize that. I’m just simply stating how I interpret Jesus’s love and how I think today’s Christians miss it (but this includes me).

This blog is about kindness. There’s multiple reasons as to why I’m writing it. This past week has been packed full of reminders to “love one another: just as I (Jesus) have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” This week in LifeGroup we’re going over John 13 where that passage comes from.

This past Thursday, the couple that came to speak at our worship service at the BCM talked about how God is love. And while I’m aware that He has so many other facets about Him. We can’t ignore His love just because it seems cliche. We can’t focus so much on His other attributes that we forget His love and mercy and grace.

At some point this week, I found out about a Christian lawyer who proposed a bill to execute people who are gay with a shot in the head. This isn’t just some random lawyer… he claimed to be a Christian. How exactly is it Christian-ly to fix sin with more sin? Because last I checked murder was a sin. The same equivalency of sin as homosexuality.

I also found this picture on Pinterest which I am convinced should say a lot more kindness and a lot less judgement. “Do not speak evil against one another, brothers. The one who speaks against a brother or judges his brother, speaks evil against the law and judges the law. But if you judge the law, you are not a doer of the law but a judge. There is only one lawgiver and judge, he who is able to save and to destroy. But who are you to judge your neighbor?” -James 4:11-12

993e42b77e9acb9a36c469812eaa2ddd

And last but certainly not least is the main part of this blog because a lovely friend of mine suggested a blog topic for me (and in case you’re wondering… I LOVE SUGGESTIONS. So anytime y’all have one, let me know). Christian tips. Yep. I’m going there. Christians are sucky tippers, and I’m going to talk about it.

I’ve never been a server. Nor have I ever tipped someone with a Bible track. So, maybe I’m not the most knowledgeable on the topic, but I’m still going to talk about it because it’s important and rarely talked about.

Christians are notoriously bad tippers. All servers dread the Sunday church crowd. In the church crowd’s defense, maybe they’re on a Jesus high and want to tell everyone about Jesus and give them Bible tracks. But I think a better way of showing that Jesus high is to tip the server well and tell them about Jesus in person because honestly just leaving a track seems a little cowardly to me. Be bold enough to say to your server something as simple as “God Bless You.”

When you walk into a restaurant on a Sunday obviously dressed for church then leave no tip, what is the server’s impression of you? Definitely not good. How are they supposed to see Christ in you, if you don’t treat them with love and respect? By leaving no tip, not only is your personal testimony as a Christian severely damaged, but the church’s testimony is too. They will immediately go back to the kitchen and complain about how they don’t like Christians, and that is a fact. Even those who consider themselves Christians complain about how they don’t like serving Christians on Sundays. Why has it come to a point where Christians are viewed as despicable? Aren’t we supposed to be radiating light and Jesus’ love? I know I don’t want to be the Christian that the server goes back and talks negatively about. I want to be the one that tips so much that they will be amazed by it. Then when they ask about it, I can tell them about Christ. By showing them overwhelming kindness, they WILL ask you why, and then there’s an instant opportunity. There’s no opportunity by leaving no tip or just a Bible track. The track will be thrown away, and the server will be forever turned off by Christians.

That leads me to Bible tracks. If you feel the overwhelming desire to leave a track on the table, at least be courteous enough to leave a tip. While yes, it is true that all we need is Jesus, that server just spent that last hour or so waiting on you. Give them a tip. A lot of times I think Christians don’t think of their waiters and waitresses as servants, but it’s in the title of their occupation! They are lowering and humbling themselves to serve you, and it’s so wonderful. They deserve that tip! Plus they only get paid what $2.13 an hour because they are expected to make the rest of minimum wage in tips. A track isn’t going to help pay the bills. Sorry but it’s the truth.

Also, so many Christians complain and tell those working on Sundays how un-christian like that is, but those same Christians are the ones going into the restaurants on Sundays expecting service. If you are so against working on Sundays, don’t go anywhere except your church and your home on Sundays. Definitely don’t go to a restaurant, expect service (and good service at that) then tip them nothing because they’re working on Sundays. That is most definitely not what Jesus would do, and if you think it is, I’m honestly not sure if we’re reading the same Bible. Besides, where does it even say in the Bible to tip servers in Bible tracks instead of money when you go to a restaurant? I’m thinking no where. We are called to love people. Servers are doing that by serving us. We can return the favor by tipping them decently.

Moral of the story: Tip servers because they’re awesome. If you tip them, you’ll be awesome too.

p.s. I use the word “you” a lot. It’s not in an accusatory way towards those of you reading. It’s just in a “that’s the way I write” way so don’t get too offended. Unless you actually are someone who does these things, in which, you should be offended and change your ways because they are wrong.

p.s.s. I wrote the first half of this blog like over a month ago so the dates/times mentioned are completely wrong relative to today, but the points still apply.

Leave a Reply

